## RECORD OF SOCIETY OF ACTUARIES 1985 VOL. 11 NO. 3

WORKSHOP SESSIONS FOR WHICH NO WRITTEN RECORD WAS MADE

Listed below are the sessions held at the Quebec meeting of the Society of Actuaries for which no written record was made, with the names of those who served as leaders.

#### Motivation

Moderator: Linda Lehtonen\*

Annuities

David M. Horman Chairpersons:

Christian Martineau

Richard Tank Real Bolduc Co-Chairpersons:

Tian-Teck Go

## Methods of Achieving Profitability and Growth--Group Insurance

Chairpersons: Bernard R. Ouimet

M. Dale Pounder

Georges A. Ferland Co-Chairpersons: Michael G. Warren

Office Automation

Chairpersons: Yvon Charest

William D. Jack

Daniel J. Marceau Co-Chairpersons:

Gary C. Mooney

Underwriting Topics

Lucie C. Cossette Chairpersons:

Yves Laneuville

Ghislain Trepainer Co-Chairpersons: Denis Martel

Michel Tardif

Sharon L. E. Thaxter

#### Group Insurance Products

Chairpersons: Jean Claude Bourgault

Jim Bremer

Co-Chairpersons: Robert J. McKay

Antoine D. Ponce

### Reversion of Assets to Employers of Terminated Pension Plans

Chairpersons: Thomas K. Custis

Frederick J. Thompson

Richard T. Miles Co-Chairpersons:

David A. Short

<sup>\*</sup>Ms. Lehtonen is not a member of the Society.

#### Structured Settlements

Chairpersons: Sue Ann Collins

Steven W. Fickes

James R. Senn

Co-Chairpersons: James D. Maughn

Fred C. Morrow Alan J. Wood\*

## Financial Performance "Yardsticks"

Chairpersons: Arnold A. Dicke

Gregory D. Jacobs Bradley M. Smith Glen R. Swanick

Co-Chairpersons: Michel Giguere

Karen Marie Kirby Forrest Allen Spooner

#### Dental, Vision and Psychiatric Care Benefits

Chairpersons: Peter Munk

Joe P. Sternfeld Co-Chairperson: M. Dale Pounder

### Issues Facing Chief Actuaries

Co-Chairperson:

Chairpersons: L. Blake Fewster

Bradley M. Smith Claude Garcia

# Mass Marketing on an International Scale

Chairperson: Kiran Desai

Co-Chairpersons: Noel J. Abkemeier

Donald J. Martineau

#### Pricing Assumptions in a Volatile Environment

Chairpersons: Lorne Campbell

Jeffrey C. Harper

John B. Snyder

Co-Chairpersons: Thomas J. Norris

Lynette L. Trygstad

#### Defined Benefit Pension Plans

Chairpersons: William J. Callnan

William Nick

Co-Chairpersons: Andre A. Beaudoin

Brian L. Burnell

<sup>\*</sup>Mr. Wood is not a member of the Society.

## Demutualization

Chairperson: Julius Vogel Co-Chairperson: Jay M. Jaffe

#### Human Rights Actuarial Factors

Chairpersons: Daphne D. Bartlett

Donald S. Grubbs, Jr.

Thomas G. Walsh

Co-Chairpersons: Daniel F. Case

Harvey Kesselman Patricia L. Scahill

## Surplus Standards--United States, Canada and United Kingdom

Chairpersons: J. Harvey Campbell

Alfred Raws, III James G. Auger Marcel Pepin

Small Groups

Co-Chairpersons:

Chairpersons: Henry Essert

George K. Hawkins, Jr.

Co-Chairperson: Jay Boekhoff

Creditors Insurance

Chairperson: Michael G. Warren Co-Chairperson: William R. Horbatt

Medicare Issues

Chairperson: Solomon Mussey

#### New Associates' Workshop

Chairperson: Peter Patterson
Participants: Denis Lapierre

Robert J. McKay John E. O'Connor\* Richard S. Robertson

Policy Loans

Chairpersons: P. Andre Ware

Steven P. West

Co-Chairpersons: J. L. Gaboury

Joseph F. Thompson

<sup>\*</sup>Mr. O'Connor, not a member of the Society, is its Executive Director.

## Variable Life Insurance in Canada and the United States

Chairpersons: Mary Ann Brown

John W. Keller Suzanne LeLaurin Co-Chairpersons:

John P. Schreiner

#### Alternative Organizational Structures for the Actuarial Functions

John B. Cumming Chairpersons:

Frank S. Irish John W. Paddon

Jay Boekhoff Co-Chairpersons:

Alden E. Olson Thomas G. Walsh

#### United States Life Insurance Tax Law

James B. Smith, Jr. Chairperson: G. Scott Bucher Co-Chairperson:

### Marketing of Pension Products by a Life Insurance Company

Chairpersons: Dennis P. Lauzon

Brian C. Ternoey Co-Chairpersons: Michael Welsh

Dale B. Wolf

#### Financial Accounting Standards Board--Requirements for Pensions and Other Post-Retirement Employee Benefits

Chairpersons: Kenneth L. Friedman

Martin J. Zigler Co-Chairpersons: Michael T. Merlob Daniel C. Rudin

### Assessment of Health Care Cost Management Programs

Chairpersons: Barry Martin Gilman

Robert J. Ingram

### Modified Guaranteed Annuities (i.e. Asset Linked Annuities)

Chairpersons: Sherwood G. House

Donald R. Sondergeld

Co-Chairpersons: Ted Becker

Cheryl Breindel

## Guidelines for the Reporting of Self-Administered Reinsurance

Chairperson: James R. Horein Co-Chairperson: Michael R. Slater

New Fellows' Luncheon "Challenge for the Future"

Speaker:

Leader:

Robin B. Leckie Thomas T. Lonergan

Alternative Medical Delivery Systems

Moderator:

David F. Ogden

