# RECORD OF SOCIETY OF ACTUAKIES 1986 VOL. 12 NO. 2

#### WORKSHOPS & OTHER SESSIONS FOR WHICH NO WRITTEN RECORD WAS MADE

Listed below are the sessions held at the Boston Meeting of the Society of Actuaries for which no written record was made, with the names of those who served as leaders.

#### Recent Developments in the Individual Marketplace

Chairperson:

William Carroll

Co-Chairperson:

John J. Palmer

#### Office Automation

Chairpersons:

Michael J. Akers

Philip J. Bieluch

Co-Chairpersons:

Morris Fishman

T. Thomas Simester

#### New Associates' Workshop

Chairperson:

Dennis Michael Corbett

Participants:

Curtis E. Huntington

Harold G. Ingraham, Jr. John E. O'Connor, Jr.\*

#### New Fellows Luncheon

Leader:

Peter B. Patterson

Speaker:

Harold G. Ingraham, Jr.

## Impact of Federal Tax Law Revision and Regulations Panel Discussion

Moderator:

Christian J. DesRochers

Panelists:

Donald J. Brooke\*\*

Shane A. Chalke

Dennis L. Stanley

- \* Mr. O'Connor, not a member of the Society, is its Executive Director.
- \*\* Mr. Brooke, not a member of the Society, is an attorney with Williams and Brooke, in Hartford, Connecticut.

## Determination of Appropriate Surplus Levels

Chairpersons:

Burton D. Jay

Frederick S. Townsend, Jr.

Co-Chairpersons:

James Ramenda

Virgil D. Wagner

### Marketing Arrangements with Financial Institutions

Chairpersons:

Joseph Fafian, Jr.

Maria N. Thomson

Co-Chairpersons:

David M. Horman

James W. Kerley\*

## Issues Facing Chief Actuaries

Chairpersons:

William A. Drew

Albert E. Easton

James Lee Lewis, Jr.

Carl L. Shepherd

Co-Chairpersons:

Jeffrey A. Beckley

Arnold A. Dicke

Thomas K. Gross

Frederick A. Randall

## Accounting for Interest-Sensitive Products

Chairperson:

Douglas A. Eckley

Co-Chairperson:

Thomas G. Coulter

## Simplified Underwriting

Chairperson:

Larry D. Baber

Co-Chairperson:

Ronald I. Becker

## Reinsurance Underwriting Issues

Chairperson:

Donald C. Kiefer

Co-Chairperson:

John W. Paddon

<sup>\*</sup> Mr. Kerley, not a member of the Society, is Vice-President - Strategies
Marketing Program with New England Mutual Life, in Boston, Massachusetts.

## Market Value Adjusted Products

Chairperson:

Donna R. Claire

Co-Chairperson:

Thomas M. Marra

## **Expense Measurement and Control**

Chairpersons:

Gayle E. Emmert

David M. Horman

Co-Chairperson:

Abraham S. Gootzeit

## Non-Traditional Marketing Products and Delivery

Chairpersons:

Raymond J. McEneaney

Raymond J. Nacin, Jr.

Co-Chairpersons:

Michael P. Fox

R. Larry Warnock

## Impact of Federal Tax Law Revision and Regulations

Chairperson:

Edward L. Robbins

Co-Chairperson:

Edward J. Winterbauer

## Determination of Appropriate Surplus Levels

Chairpersons:

Lawrence V. Durland, Jr.

Bruce J. Nicholson

Co-Chairpersons:

Sue Ann Collins

Jerald E. Sourdiff

## Role of Joint Ventures in Strategic Planning

Chairpersons:

Sue Ann Collins

Bradley M. Smith

Co-Chairperson:

Diane Wallace

## Self-Administered Reinsurance Reporting

Chairperson:

Mark R. White

Co-Chairperson:

James W. Ylvisaker

#### Trends in Underwriting

Chairpersons: John L. Cummins

John B. Dinius

Co-Chairpersons: Neville S. Henderson

G. Rodney J. Letts

## Impact of Federal Tax Law Revision and Regulations

Chairpersons: Calvert A. Jared, II

Barbara L. Snyder

Co-Chairpersons: Steven H. Klubock

John J. Palmer

#### Variable Life/Fixed and Flexible Premium

Chairpersons: Mary Ann Brown

Anthony T. Spano

Co-Chairpersons: Thomas G. Meyer

John B. Snyder

## Pricing in a Return on Equity Environment

Chairpersons: Warren M. Cohen

Patricia L. Guinn Barry S. Halpern Leonard M. Pressey Klaus O. Shigley

Cathy H. Waldhauser

Co-Chairpersons: Barry T. Gatey

Jeffrey C. Harper Alan F. Hinkle Robert J. Kelly Stephen C. Spock John S. Tillotson

## Current Canadian Regulatory Developments

Chairperson: Andrew G. Beamish
Co-Chairperson: Murray John Taylor

## Determination of Appropriate Surplus Levels

Chairpersons:

O. David Green, III

R. Stephen Radcliffe

Co-Chairpersons:

Timothy A. Hinchliff

Dennis L. Stanley

### Organizing the Product Development Function

Chairpersons:

D. Wayne Carstens

Marc G. Verrier

Co-Chairpersons:

Lorne Campbell

Edward B. Martin

## Corporate Modeling and Forecasting (Practical Aspects of the Valuation Actuary Recommendations)

Chairpersons:

R. Thomas Herget

Michael E. Mateja

Co-Chairpersons:

Dennis L. Carr

John T. Zellner

## Reinsurance from Ceding Company's Standpoint

Chairpersons:

Richard D. Ashton

Richard B. Lassow

Carolyn J. Stontz

Co-Chairpersons:

Johanna B. Becker

Timothy Fitch

#### Organizing the Product Development Function

Chairpersons:

Bruce E. Booker

John B. Cumming

Frederick J. Garland, Jr.

Alice M. Neenan

Ronald L. Stopher

Co-Chairpersons:

Michael G. Gallo

John W. Hadley

J. Tyler Lee

P. Andrew Ware

Gary A. Wick

## Managing for Excellence

Chairpersons:

William C. Cutlip

Sylvester J. Huse

Richard K. Kischuk

Co-Chairpersons:

William Cunningham

Gregory S. Strong

## Marketing Arrangements with Financial Institutions

Chairpersons:

Richard L. Bergstrom

Russell M. Collins, Jr.

Edward B. Martin

Co-Chairpersons:

Craig F. Likkel

Raymond J. McEneaney
H. Michael Shumrak

# Corporate Modeling and Forecasting (Practical Aspects of the Valuation Actuary Recommendations)

Chairpersons:

Michael J. Akers

Alan H. Fougner

Terrence M. Owens

Ronal Shutley

Mel Stein

Co-Chairpersons:

M. Ian Gray

Douglas J. Lourens

Thomas Nace John W. Paige Joe B. Pharr

## Mutual Company Reporting Topics

Chairpersons:

Frank S. Irish

R. Larry Warnock

Co-Chairpersons:

Chester T. Lewandowski

Harold V. Lyons, Jr.

## Accounting for Interest-Sensitive Products

Chairperson: Frank J. Buck

Co-Chairperson: Frederick A. Randall

4.444

. . .

21