RECORD OF SOCIETY OF ACTUARIES 1987 VOL. 13 NO. 2

WORKSHOPS & OTHER SESSIONS FOR WHICH NO WRITTEN RECORD WAS MADE

Listed below are the sessions held at the Colorado Springs Meeting of the Society of Actuaries for which no written record was made, with the names of those who served as leaders.

New Associates' Workshop

Leader:	Denise E. Fagerberg
Participants:	Gary Corbett
	George W. McCauslan
	John E. O'Connor, Jr.*

Systems Constraints in Product Design

Chairpersons:	Anne M. Katcher
	Margaret R. Onstott
Co-Chairpersons:	Richard G. Fielding
	Michael G. Gallo

Group Universal Life

Chairpersons:	Jeffrey C. Harper	
	John Michael Harrington	
	Morris Snow	
Co-Chairpersons:	Lonnie A. Etheridge	
	Michal Bauer Kuttler	
	John D. Stiefel, III	

Basic Application of Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB) 87/88 Faculty: James T. Colburn

Judith E. Latta

Managing Group Health Insurance

Faculty:	Tony E. Holmes
	Van Allen Jones
	Barbara Nichus
	Schuyler W. Tompson

* Mr. O'Connor, not a member of the Society, is its Executive Director.

Corporate Management Game

Faculty:	Ardian C. Gill
	Oscar R. Scofield*
	Robert D. Shapiro
	Richard A. Smith**
	Samuel H. Turner

Financial Performance Measuring Systems

Faculty:	Richard K. Kischuk
	Robert W. Stein

The Future of Traditional Products

Chairpersons:	Jeffrey A. Beckley
	John W. Keller
Co-Chairpersons:	Thomas K. Gross
	Robert J. Stokes

Universal Individual Disability Income

Chairpersons:	Robert W. Beal	
	James M. Merwald, Jr.	
	Donald A. Skokan	
Co-Chairpersons:	Ronald G. Heibert	
	Martin Kirr	
	Jon K. Magalska	

Reinsurance Forum

Chairperson:	Karen Olsen MacDonald
Co-Chairperson:	Harold D. Singh

Flexible Education System Impact on Actuarial Student Programs

Chairperson:	Cecil D. Bykerk
Co-Chairperson:	Wayne R. Berney

- * Mr. Scofield, not a member of the Society, is President & CEO of Financial Centre in Stamford, Connecticut.
- ** Mr. Smith, not a member of the Society, is Vice President of Financial Planning and Control with Penn Mutual Life Insurance Company in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

Measuring the Success of	the Product Actuary
Chairpersons:	Richard L. Bergstrom
	Frank C. Metz
	Bradley M. Smith
Co-Chairpersons:	Edward F. Cowman
	Regina V. McDermott

Effective Presentation (Communication) Skills Faculty: Patricia D. Barker*

Single	Employer	Pension	Plan	Amendments Act
Facult	y:		K	enneth D. MacBain
			E.	Thomas Veal**

Lapse-Supported Products

Chairpersons:	J. Donald McFarlane
	Philip K. Polkinghorn
Co-Chairperson:	John C. Vieren

Federal Income Tax -- Policyholder Considerations

Chairperson:	Leslie E. Korper, II
Co-Chairperson:	Thomas M. Marra

Federal Income Tax - Company Considerations

Chairperson:	Penelope A. Kingan
Co-Chairperson:	Diane Wallace

Actuarial Involvement in Divorce and Other Litigation

Faculty:	George	₩.	McCauslan
	Arthur	H.	Tepfer

- * Ms. Barker, not a member of the Society, is President and Owner of Barker & Associates in Naperville, Illinois.
- ** Mr. Veal, not a member of the Society, is Director, Corporate Policy and Regulations Department at the Pension Benefit Guaranty Corporation in Washington, D.C.

Federal Income Tax: Basic Faculty: Sue A. Collins

I acuity.	Suc A.	CU	111113
	Steven	W.	Fickes

Joint Ventures in Health Care Financing

Faculty:	David V. Axene
	Gerald L. Coe*
	Robert J. Williams

Annuity Product Design Faculty:

Dale	S. F	lagstrom
Paul	A. I	Hekman
Shirle	ey A	. Knarr

Pension Plan Design Under the New Tax Act Faculty: Ira Cohen John F. Wade

Corporate-Owned Life Insurance

Chairperson: Steven A. Eisenberg

New Fellows' Luncheon

Leader:	Denise E. Fagerberg
Speaker:	Barbara J. Lautzenheiser

Alternative Pricing Methodologies

Moderators:	Patricia L. Guinn
	Daniel J. McCarthy
Panelist:	Walter N. Miller

Pension Plan	Termination:	Reversion of Assets
Faculty:		Vincent Amoroso
		Michael A. Archer

* Mr. Coe, not a member of the Society, is Director of Reed, McClure, Moceri, Thonn & Moriarity in Seattle, Washington.

Federal Income Tax Techniques and Strategies: Advanced Faculty: Arthur L. Bailey* Steven W. Fickes Allan D. Greenberg

Product Development: Innovation and Management (Part I) Faculty: Thomas O. Davenport** Donald A. Kurz*** John E. Tiller, Jr.

Product Development:	Innovation and Management (Part II)
Faculty:	Thomas W. Reese
	Alan W. Sibigtroth
	John E. Tiller, Jr.

Managing for Excellence

Faculty:

Patricia D. Barker Peter J. Bondy William C. Cutlip Barbara J. Lautzenheiser

Current	Developments:	U.S. Pension Legislation
Faculty:		Wayne E. Dydo
		Leslie S. Shapiro****
		Dennis A. Skelly
		Larry D. Zimpleman

- * Mr. Bailey, not a member of the Society, is a Partner with Steptoe & Johnson in Washington, D.C.
- ** Mr. Davenport, not a member of the Society, is Managing Consultant with Cresap, McCormick and Paget in San Francisco, California
- *** Mr. Kurz, not a member of the Society, is Principal of Cresap, McCormick and Paget in Los Angeles, California.
- **** Mr. Shapiro, not a member of the Society, is Executive Director of the Joint Board for the Enrollment of Actuaries in Washington, D.C.

Long-Term Care Faculty:

Francis E. Keenan Mark E. Litow

Medical Care Employer Reporting Systems

Faculty: Edward M. Mailander Walter R. Wood*

* Mr. Wood, not a member of the Society, is a Consultant with The Wyatt Company in Washington, D.C.