RECORD OF SOCIETY OF ACTUARIES 1986 VOL. 12 NO. 4B

WORKSHOPS & OTHER SESSIONS FOR WHICH NO WRITTEN RECORD WAS MADE

Listed below are the sessions held at the Chicago Meeting of the Society of Actuaries for which no written record was made, with the names of those who served as leaders.

New Associates' Workshop

Leader:

Dennis M. Corbett

Participants:

Harold G. Ingraham, Jr.

John E. O'Connor, Jr.*

Stephen L. White

Sources of Experience Assumptions for Individual Life Product Development

Chairpersons:

Richard D. Ashton

William Carroll

Harry A. Woodman

Co-Chairpersons:

Martin R. Claire

Aaron Grant Hemphill, III

Mark R. White

Mergers and Acquisitions

Chairpersons:

Wayne Allen Schreck

Bruce Winterhof

Co-Chairpersons:

Jay A. Novik

Robert B. Thomas, Jr.

National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) Health Insurance Reserve Standards

Chairperson:

W. H. Odell

Co-Chairperson:

G. Scott Bucher

Internal Revenue Service Actuarial Guidelines Handbook

Chairperson:

Scott C. Otermat

^{*} Mr. O'Connor, not a member of the Society, is its Executive Director.

Producer-Owned Reinsurers

Chairperson: Philip K. Polkinghorn

Co-Chairperson: Craig M. Baldwin

New Fellows' Luncheon

Leader: W. James MacGinnitie

Utilization Review

Chairpersons: Richard Bilisoly

Alan N. Ferguson

Co-Chairpersons: Lisa M. Krepps*

James C. Modaff

Investment Strategies for Interest-Sensitive Products

Chairpersons: Joseph E. Crowne

Jeffrey D. Miller Nora E. Moushey John O. Nigh Dennis L. Stanley Michael R. Tuohy

Co-Chairpersons: Dennis L. Carr

Ernest R. Foerster Kimberly A. Johnson

Mary Jo Napoli

Victoria Lee Pickering

Stephen L. White

Association Group

Chairperson: Michael P. Fox
Co-Chairperson: Stephen D. Brink

Individual Disability Income

Chairperson: Jeffrey D. Miller Co-Chairperson: Robert W. Beal

* Ms. Krepps, not a member of the Society, is Assistant Account Executive at Rush Contract Care in Chicago, Illinois.

Pension Plan Terminations and Spinoffs

Chairperson: Patrick Landry
Co-Chairperson: Karen Krist

Capital Management -- Stock Companies

Chairperson: John H. Flittie
Co-Chairperson: James E. Feldman

Capital Management -- Mutual Companies

Chairpersons: Armand M. de Palo

Daryle G. Johnson

Co-Chairpersons: Michael J. Cowell

E. Tom Hughes

Personality Styles and Professional and Personal Success

Chairperson: Peter J. Bondy
Co-Chairperson: Patricia D. Barker*

Health Section Networking Breakfast

Leader: Robert J. Dymowski

Roundtable Discussions on Health Care Topics

Chairperson: Robert J. Dymowski

Speakers: William F. Jessee, M.D.**

Alan Peres***

Financial Reporting Section Breakfast

Leader: William J. Schreiner

- * Ms. Barker, not a member of the Society, is President of Barker & Associates in Wheaton, Illinois.
- ** Dr. Jessee, not a member of the Society, is Vice President for Education at the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Hospitals in Chicago, Illinois.
- *** Mr. Peres, not a member of the Society, is Manager of Health Care Utilization at Illinois Bell in Chicago, Illinois.

Reinsurance Section Breakfast

Leader:

Melville J. Young

Task Force on Mutual Life Insurance Company Conversion Open Committee Meeting

Chairperson:

Harry D. Garber

Variable Life Insurance

Chairpersons:

Victoria Lee Pickering

Allan W. Ryan

Co-Chairpersons:

Charles G. Fisher

Michael L. Fix

Use of Personal Computers in Pension Valuations

Chairperson:

Brian J. Mattson

Co-Chairperson:

Anne M. Anderson

How to Comply with New York's New Annuity Valuation Regulation

Chairpersons:

Dennis L. Carr

Michael E. Mateja

Co-Chairperson:

Donna R. Claire

Sources of Experience Assumptions for Individual Life Product Development

Chairpersons:

Douglas C. Doll

Lucian J. Lombardi

Melvin C. McFall

Co-Chairpersons:

Joseph R. Brzezinski

A. Gordon Jardin

David S. Lee

Current Interest Topics for Non-Traditional Marketing Section Members

Chairperson:

Jay M. Jaffe

Co-Chairpersons:

Charles F. Thalheimer

John E. Tiller, Jr.

Generally Accepted Accounting Principles (GAAP) for Universal Life

Chairpersons: David C. Daulton

John T. Glass
Paul F. Kolkman
Edward S. Silins

Co-Chairpersons: Leonard Buckner

Daniel J. Kunesh Wayne Allen Schreck Robert W. Stein

Asset and Liability Management

Chairpersons: Bruce J. Nicholson

William J. Rusch Steve D. Schultz Barbara L. Snyder

Co-Chairpersons: Michael A. Gauger

Peter Hepokoski Richard L. Sega Bradley M. Smith

Financial Reinsurance

Chairpersons: Roland G. Anderson

Diane Wallace

Co-Chairpersons: Kin K. Gee

A. Greig Woodring

Life Care/Long Term Care

Chairpersons: Larry D. Baber

Mark D. Peavy

Co-Chairpersons: Janet A. Pendleton

Jeffrey P. Petertil

What Have We Done to Ourselves? A Discussion of Current Pricing Philosophy

Chairpersons:

John Glynn

R. Stephen Radcliffe

Co-Chairpersons:

Le Roy H. Christenson

Roger C. Johnson

Pension Plan Accounting Under Financial Accounting Standard (FAS) 87

Chairpersons:

Howard Alan Freidin

James A. Stinchcomb

Co-Chairperson:

Dale Lamps

Individual Life Insurance and Annuity Product Development Section Luncheon

Leader:

Randall Mire

Speaker:

James C. H. Anderson

Non-Traditional Marketing Section Luncheon

Leader:

H. Michael Shumrak

Speaker:

Gary A. Kauffman*

Terre A. Tuzzolino

Sources of Profit Analysis

Chairpersons:

Peter J. Bondy

Steven A. Eisenberg

Patricia L. Guinn

Co-Chairpersons:

Gregory N. Herrle

John O. Nigh

D. Edward Young

Non-Traditional Marketing through Broadcast Media

Chairperson:

H. Michael Shumrak

Co-Chairperson:

Gary A. Kauffman*

^{*} Mr. Kauffman, not a member of the Society, is President of Direct Marketing Advisory Service in Rye, New York.

Current Topics Relating to Individual Product Development

Chairperson: William Carroll
Co-Chairperson: John J. Palmer

Group Medical Underwriting

Chairpersons: Sanford B. Herman

Jerome Winkelstein

Co-Chairpersons: George K. Hawkins, Jr.

Dale Johnson

New Forms of Agency Compensation --Impact on Product Design and Company Profitability

Chairpersons: Sue Ann Collins

Marshall H. Lykins

Co-Chairpersons: William C. Cutlip

Melville J. Young

Retirement Plan Design

Chairperson: Howard Alan Freidin
Co-Chairperson: Bonnie Owenette Mudd

Futurism Section Business Meeting

Moderator: Barry S. Halpern

Pension Section Meeting

Moderator: Charles E. Farr

Futurism Section Dinner

Leader: Barry S. Halpern
Speaker: John E. Hansan*

Actuarial Assumptions for Large Pension Plans

Chairperson: Mark O. Johnson
Co-Chairperson: Robert H. Clasen

* Mr. Hansan, not a member of the Society, is Manager, Senior Living Trends at Futures Group in Washington, D.C.

Scenario Writing

Chairpersons: Robert L. Collett

David S. Williams

Co-Chairpersons: Douglas A. Eckley

Dale C. Griffin

Federal Income Tax

Chairpersons: Christian J. DesRochers

Charles D. Friedstat Gerald A. Lockwood

Jeremy Starr

Co-Chairpersons: Thomas W. Fineis

Gilbert W. Hart

Norman B. Nodulman

Reinsurance -- Current State of the Market

Chairpersons: Wayne D. Bidelman

A. Greig Woodring Melville J. Young

Co-Chairpersons: Marguerite A. Boslaugh

Sue Ann Collins Herman H. Schmit

Marketing Aspects of New Individual Health Products

Chairperson:

Charles Habeck

Co-Chairperson:

Yang Ho

Sources of Profit Analysis

Chairperson:

Robert J. LaLonde

Co-Chairperson:

Frederick E. Raach

How to Comply with New York's New Annuity Valuation Regulation

Chairperson:

Jonathan L. Wooley

Co-Chairperson:

Esther H. Milnes

Market Value Adjusted Products

Chairperson:

Dale S. Hagstrom

Co-Chairperson:

Anthony T. Spano

Asset and Liability Management

Chairperson:

Mark E. Litow

Co-Chairperson:

Barry Paul