RECORD OF SOCIETY OF ACTUARIES 1987 VOL. 13 NO. 3

WORKSHOPS & OTHER SESSIONS FOR WHICH NO WRITTEN RECORD WAS MADE

Listed below are the sessions held at the New York Meeting of the Society of Actuaries for which no written record was made, with the names of those who served as leaders.

New Associates' Workshop

Leader:	Robert B. Likins
Participants:	Gary Corbett
	John E. O'Connor, Jr.*

Reserving for Credit/Mortgage Insurance

Chairperson:	H. Neil Lund
Co-Chairperson:	Charles M. Underwood, II

Impact of Financial Accounting Standards 87 on Financial Results

Chairperson:	James	C.	Glick
Co-Chairperson:	David	C.	Nearpass

Generally Accepted Account	ting Principles (GAAP) for New Generation Products
Chairpersons:	Kriss Cloninger, III
	Calvert A. Jared, II
	Gerald A. Lockwood
	Douglas Menkes
	David B. Montgomery
Co-Chairpersons:	Michael V. Eckman
	Selwyn L. Flournoy, Jr.
	Bruce Norton Nelson
	Barry Paul

Flexible Education System Impact on Actuarial Student ProgramsChairperson:Cecil D. BykerkCo-Chairperson:Stephen L. White

* Mr. O'Connor, not a member of the Society, is its Executive Director.

Software Tools for Asset/Liability Matching

Chairpersons:	Mark Brandes
	Peter B. Deakins
	C. Lee Fischbeck
	Roger W. Smith
	Mel Stein
Co-Chairpersons:	William P. Ausman*
	Joseph E. Crowne
	Douglas N. Hawley
	Clark A. Ramsey
	Matt Tucker

Statements of Actuarial Opinion and the Valuation Actuary

Chairpersons:	Esther H. Milnes
	Edward L. Robbins
Co-Chairpersons:	Curtis E. Huntington
	S. Michael McLaughlin

Impact of Federal Income Tax on Financial Management

Chairperson:	Marvin	D.	Finema	n
Co-Chairperson:	William	F.	Sutton,	ш

Profit Centers -- Management Reporting

Chairpersons:	Charles Carroll
	Ray M. Perisho
Co-Chairpersons:	Robert J. Johansen
	Paul J. Overberg

New Investments and New Investment Strategies

Chairperson:	Frank E. Collecchia
Co-Chairperson:	Ken Urbaszewski**

- * Mr. Ausman, not a member of the Society, is Director of the Decision Support Group at PALLM, Inc. in Indianapolis, Indiana.
- ** Mr. Urbaszewski, not a member of the Society, is First Vice President at Kemper Financial Services in Chicago, Illinois.

Corporate	Planning	in a	Multiline 1	Environment
Chairperso	n:		Orlen E	. Lunde
Co-Chairpe	erson:		Stephen	D. Bickel

Financial Performance Measures for Mutual Companies

Chairpersons:	Mark A. Tullis	
	Stephen L. White	
Co-Chairpersons:	Michael V. Eckman	
	Thomas L. May	

Hedging Strategies

Chairperson:	Venita L. Bullock
Co-Chairperson:	Roger A. Sayler*

Non-Yearly Renewable Term Reinsurance for Interest-Sensitive Products

Chairpersons:	Craig M. Baldwin
	Melanie K. Durland
Co-Chairpersons:	Wayne D. Bidelman
	William J. Reifenberger

Acquisition Financing

Chairpersons:	Donald E. Fritz
	Kin K. Gee
Co-Chairpersons:	Harold Sandstrom**
	Joseph A. Sikora

Coordinating the Product Development Investment and Financial Reporting Functions

Chairpersons:	Patricia L. Guinn
	John W. Hadley
Co-Chairpersons:	Michael W. Pado

- * Mr. Sayler, not a member of the Society, is Managing Director at J. P. Morgan Investment Management in New York, New York.
- ** Mr. Sandstrom, not a member of the Society, is Managing Director of Investment Banking at Bankers Trust Company in New York, New York.

Impact of Non-Traditional Marketing on the Public Interest: Opportunities, Problems and Solutions

Chairperson: H.	Neil	Lund
-----------------	------	------

Practical Aspects of Managing Investment Risks

Chairperson:	Michael Welsh
Co-Chairperson:	Susan M. Ende

Financial Performance Measures for Mutual Companies

Chairpersons:	Joseph L. Dunn
	R. Stephen Radcliffe
	Bruce J. Nicholson
Co-Chairpersons:	Charles C. McLeod
	James F. Reiskytl

Selection of Scenarios and	Assumptions for Valuation Actuary Work
Chairpersons:	Douglas A. Eckley
	Marcia S. Sander
Co-Chairpersons:	Barry M. Black
	Gary C. Mooney

Statements of Actuarial Opinion and the Valuation Actuary

Chairpersons:	Donna R. Claire
	Solomon Goldfinger
Co-Chairpersons:	Richard F. Fisher
	Jerrold R. Scher

Accounting for Deferred Acquisition Costs

Chairpersons:	Calvert A. Jared, II
	Daniel J. Kunesh
Co-Chairpersons:	James E. Hohmann
	H. Michael Shumrack

New Fellows' Luncheon	
Leader:	Robert B. Likins
Speaker:	Dwight K. Bartlett, III

Impact of Federal Income Tax on Financial Management

Chairpersons:	Charles D. Friedstat
	Allan D. Greenberg
Co-Chairpersons:	James W. Dederer*
	Norman B. Nodulman

Profit Centers -- Management Reporting

Chairpersons:	Michael J. Cowell
	Norman E. Hill
	Joel V. Kamer
	Clement B. Penrose
Co-Chairpersons:	Geraid A. Anderson
	Donald F. Behan
	Armand M. de Palo
	Richard M. Stenson

New Investments and New	Investment Strategies
Chairpersons:	Joseph J. Buff
	James J. Carey
	Ronald S. Levin
	Terrence M. Owens
Co-Chairpersons:	Timothy Davenport**
	John J. Marcus
	Richard K. Timbrell***
	John P. Verel****

- * Mr. Dederer, not a member of the Society, is Senior Vice President and General Counsel at Transamerica Life Companies in Los Angeles, California.
- ** Mr. Davenport, not a member of the Society, is Assistant Treasurer at Morgan Guaranty Trust Company of New York in New York, New York.
- *** Mr. Timbrell, not a member of the Society, is Vice President, Rates Analysis at J. P. Morgan Securities in New York, New York.
- **** Mr. Verel, not a member of the Society, is Vice President, Investments at Associated Madison Companies, Inc. in New York, New York.

 Selection of Scenarios and Assumptions for Valuation Actuary Work

 Chairpersons:
 Abraham S. Gootzeit

 Dennis P. Lauzon

 Chairpersons:
 Michael B. Boesen

 Joel D. Thomison