RECORD OF SOCIETY OF ACTUARIES 1988 VOL. 14 NO. 1

WORKSHOPS & OTHER SESSIONS FOR WHICH NO WRITTEN RECORD WAS MADE

Listed below are the sessions held at the Anaheim meeting of the Society of Actuaries for which no written record was made, with the names of those who served as leaders.

Life Insurance in Qualified Retirement Plans

Chairperson: Guest Speaker: Kurt Frederic Piper Robert C. Shadur*

Comparability of Retirement Plans

Chairpersons:

Ross C. Gordon Frederic J. Smith

Thomas Toher

Co-Chairpersons:

Philip F. Ancona James B. Dexter Donald J. Segal

Non-Discrimination Rules

Faculty:

Tamara S. Mattson**

Multiple Employer Trusts (METs)

Faculty:

George K. Hawkins, Jr.

Barbara Niehus

A Practical Guide to the Use of Health Data

Faculty:

Ronald J. Becker***
Jean M. Wodarczyk

Adequate Financing of Retirement Plans

Chairperson:

Geoffrey C. Sandler Patrick F. Flanagan

Co-Chairperson:

Executive Compensation

Philip J. Bieluch

Chairpersons:

Co-Chairpersons:

Paul W. Barker John W. Phelan

Robert W. Yarmchuk

Pension Accounting Standards in North America -- United States

Chairpersons:

Judith E. Latta

Steven M. Rabinowitz

Co-Chairpersons

Brent Michael Mowery

Paul A. Rizzuto

Pension Accounting Standards in North America -- Canada

Chairperson:

William F. Chinery

Co-Chairperson:

John J. Brophy

- * Mr. Shadur, not a member of the Society, is President of Shadur, Weinberg/National Associates in Encino, California.
- ** Ms. Mattson, not a member of the Society, is Group Benefit Consultant of Tillinghast/Towers Perrin in Minneapolis, Minnesota.
- *** Mr. Becker, not a member of the Society, is Manager and Consulting Actuary of Price Waterhouse in Chicago, Illinois.

Pension Actuarial Software and Hardware Developments

Chairperson: Steven Joseph Lorisz Co-Chairperson: William J. Reynolds

Small Plans (Less than 100 Lives)

Chairperson: Evelyn M. Bernardo

Multi-Employer Plans

Chairperson: Marel K. Bates

Insurance Company Enrolled Actuaries Chairperson: Richard Carson

Co-Chairperson: Robert P. Ford

Insurance Company Product Actuaries

Chairperson: David M. Welsh Co-Chairperson: James P. Larkin

Pension Section Meeting

Moderator: William David Smith

Health Section Meeting

Moderators: Kenneth S. Avner

Charles Habeck Duane W. Kidwell Robert Shapland

New Associates' Workshop

Leader: Darryl E. Leach

Speakers: Robert J. McKay

John E. O'Connor, Jr.*

Ian M. Rolland

Issues Relating to Tax Exempt Private Plans

Chairpersons: Jeffrey A. Groves

William B. Gulliver

Quality Review Standards in the Pension Consulting Environment

Chairperson: Doris J. Bennett

Co-Chairperson: Jerauld G. Spigal

Small Group Issues (Under 10 Employees)

Chairpersons: Richard L. Helms

Alden E. Olson Richard L. Vaughan Donald G. Hamm, Jr.

Co-Chairpersons: Donald G. Hamm, Jr.

Charles Henry Heiberg David G. Josephson

* Mr. O'Connor, not a member of the Society, is its Executive Director.

Individual Disability Income

Chairpersons: Robert W. Beal

Gary L. Kiontke

Co-Chairpersons: Martin Kirr

Thomas J. Leary

The Role of the Corporate Actuary in the Valuation Process

Chairperson: Liangan Liu

Co-Chairperson: Mark H. Kordonsky*

Dialogue with the IRS

Faculty: James E. Holland, Jr.

Frederic T. Lhamon Lawrence Mitchell John F. Wade Kenneth Yednock**

Public Sector Pension Plans

Chairperson: Jane D. Pacelli Co-Chairperson: Norman S. Losk

Co-champerson. 1401man 5. Eosi

Professional Standards and Obligations
Chairpersons: James M. Jackson

Rick A. Roeder

Co-Chairpersons: Carolyn Abelanet
Richard G. Roeder***

Medical Stop Loss Experience

Chairpersons: Michael R. McLean

Gregory W. Parker

Co-Chairpersons: Mikel T. Gray

David E. Olsho

Multiple Option Health Products

Chairpersons: John F. Fritz

Dennis J. Hulet

Harry L. Sutton, Jr.

Co-Chairpersons: David Lee Burch

Allen J. Sorbo

Mr. Kordonsky, not a member of the Society, is an Actuary in Investment Research at Atlantic Richfield Company in Los Angeles, California.

** Mr. Yednock, not a member of the Society, is Chief of the Projects Branch Employee Plans Technical and Actuarial Division of the Internal Revenue Service in Washington, District of Columbia.

*** Mr. Roeder, not a member of the Society, is Chairman of Gabriel, Roeder, Smith & Company in Detroit, Michigan.

Use of 1985 CIDA and 1987 GLTD Diskettes

Moderator: Faculty: Mark G. Doherty*
W. Duane Kidwell

Frank E. Knorr

Managed Care and Cost Containment -- Individual

Chairpersons:

Mark E. Litow Steven M. Rieth

Co-Chairperson:

Thomas S. Tomczyk

TRA 1986

Faculty:

Jerry D. Allen**

James J. Bigos

Corporate Management Game

Faculty:

Robert L. Katz

Effective Business Writing

Faculty:

Patricia Barker Mallinder***

New Fellows' Dinner

Leader: Speaker: Dennis M. Corbett Frederick W. Kilbourne

The Role of the Corporate Actuary in the Valuation Process

Chairperson:

Liangan Liu

Co-Chairpersons:

Julian S. Carr, Jr. Mark H. Kordonsky

Managed Care and Cost Containment -- Group

Chairpersons:

Co-Chairpersons:

Kenneth S. Avner Barbara R. Posnick

Martin E. Staehlin

Gregory S. Benesh Christopher FitzSimons, IV

Alice Rosenblatt

Canadian Plan Design Issues

Chairperson:

Michael R. Ternosky

Quality Review Standards in the Pension Consulting Environment

Chairperson:

Doris J. Bennett

- * Mr. Doherty, not a member of the Society, is its Director of Research.
- ** Mr. Allen, not a member of the Society, is Senior Actuary of Mercer-Meidinger-Hansen, Inc. in Chicago, Illinois.
- *** Ms. Mallinder, not a member of the Society, is President of Barker & Associates in Naperville, Illinois.

Long-Term Care Insurance

Chairpersons:

Michael S. Abroe Jack R. Dykhouse Hersh Markusfeld Harvey Sobel

Co-Chairpersons:

John M. Bradley Thomas L. Coston John W.C. Stark Joseph J. Wallace

Pension Investment -- Asset Allocation

Chairpersons:

William F. Chinery

Stephen A. Eadie

AIDS and Health Actuaries

Chairperson:

Marlin M. Mueller

Co-Chairperson:

Frank M. Amrine

Social Security Integration Under TRA '86

Faculty:

Richard Edmund Berger Carol Randolph Gramer Michael L. Young

Plan Terminations

Chairpersons:

Carolyn Abelanet Margaret M. Warner Robin S. Block Charles E. Dean, Jr.

Co-Chairpersons:

Excise Taxes Under TRA '86

Chairperson: Co-Chairperson: James G. Durfee Wayne E. Dydo

Economic Forecasts

Chairpersons:

James J. Cryan

Jan R. Harrington Daryle G. Johnson

Co-Chairpersons:

Jerry N. Loterman John D. Murray David K. Sandberg

U.S. Large Plan Design Issues

Chairperson: Co-Chairperson: David C. Nearpass Edward Scott Mactas

U.S. Small Plan Design Issues

Chairperson:

Brian J. Mattson

Co-Chairperson:

Anne M. Anderson

The Medicare Supplement Market

Chairpersons:

Paul J. Overberg John M. Stenson

Co-Chairpersons:

Jeffrey K. Tilford Willis W. Burgess John C. Lounds Nancy F. Nelson

Group Universal Life Product

Chairpersons:

Richard Bilisoly Francis E. Keenan Mark A. Davis

Co-Chairpersons:

Peter J. Riemer

Alternate Delivery Systems - Small Employers

Chairpersons:

Martin F. Gibson David W. Krueger Norman E. Crocker

Co-Chairpersons:

Alice Rosenblatt

Alternate Delivery Systems -- Medium-Size Employers

Chairperson: Co-Chairperson: Ted A. Lyle Julia T. Philips

Alternate Delivery Systems -- Large Employers

Chairpersons:

Roger S. Palmer Richard D. Stover

Co-Chairpersons:

Kenneth R. Hamm David S. Helwig

Social Security Integration Under TRA '86

Faculty:

Richard Edmund Berger Carol Randolph Gramer

Michael L. Young

Plan Terminations

Chairperson:

Lois M. Broussard David A. Yackel

Excise Taxes Under TRA '86

Chairperson:

David C. LeSueur

Economic Forecasts

Chairperson:

F. Jay Lingo

U.S. Large Plan Design Issues

Chairperson: Co-Chairperson: James A. Kenney Sherrie B. Desmond

U.S. Small Plan Design Issues

Chairperson: Co-Chairperson: Gregg P. Richter Larry D. Zimpleman