RECORD OF SOCIETY OF ACTUARIES 1990 VOL. 16 NO. 3

WORKSHOPS & OTHER SESSIONS FOR WHICH NO WRITTEN RECORD WAS MADE

Listed below are the sessions held at the San Francisco meeting for which no written record was made, with the names of those who served as leaders.

The 1990s: Turbulent Times -- Coping with Permanent White Water

Moderator: William C. Cutlip
Speaker: Mark Brenner*

New Associates' Workshop

Chairperson: Gary N. Peterson

Speakers: Daphne D. Bartlett

George W. McCauslan John E. O'Connor, Jr.†

Quality Control in Product Development

Chairpersons: David N. Becker

Mark S. Mahany

Co-Chairpersons: Stephen Paul Hodges

Ronald L. Stopher

Premium Persistency

Chairpersons: John Randolph Dobo

Allan W. Ryan

Co-Chairpersons: Paul Beeghly

Alex Zeid

Junk Bond Investment Return Rates for Pricing Purposes

Chairpersons: Donna R. Claire

Michel Perreault

Co-Chairpersons: M. Timothy Corbett

Glen A. Holden, Jr.‡ Sheldon M. Stone§

Reinsurance Valuation Issues

Chairperson: David E. Scherr
Co-Chairperson: Neal E. Arnold

- * Dr. Brenner, not a member of the sponsoring organizations, is a Corporate Psychologist with Mark Brenner Ph.D., P.C., in Berwyn, Pennsylvania.
- † Mr. O'Connor is Executive Director of the Society of Actuaries.
- ‡ Mr. Holden, not a member of the sponsoring organizations, is Vice President with the Trust Company of the West in Los Angeles, California.
- § Mr. Stone, not a member of the sponsoring organizations, is Senior Vice President with the Trust Company of the West in Los Angeles, California.

WORKSHOPS & OTHER SESSIONS FOR WHICH NO WRITTEN RECORD WAS MADE

Reserving for AIDS

Chairperson: Paul J. Sulek Co-Chairperson: James C. Hackard

Risk Classification Trends

Chairperson: John W. Paddon Speaker: Richard G. Woll

An Introduction to SOA Experience Studies

Chairperson: Sam Gutterman
Co-Chairperson: Mark G. Doherty*

Emerging Issues

Chairperson: John F. Powell Joyce B. Whaley

Nonguaranteed Bonuses

Chairperson: Leslie E. Korper II

New Fellows' Dinner

Speaker: W. James MacGinnitie

Tax and Regulatory Issues

Chairperson: Karen Olsen MacDonald Co-Chairperson: Thomas E. Skillman

Accelerated Benefits

Chairperson: Robert J. Tiessen
Co-Chairperson: Carol A. Marler

TAMRA Implementation

Chairperson: Dean M. Way
Co-Chairperson: Richard E. Moore

Modeling Investments for Pricing Purposes

Chairperson: Robert J. LaLonde Co-Chairperson: Frederick L. Davis

Whole Brain Problem Solving

Faculty: William C. Cutlip

Patricia Barker Mallindert

* Mr. Doherty is Director of Research of the Society of Actuaries.

† Ms. Mallinder, not a member of the sponsoring organizations, is President of Mallinder and Associates in Naperville, Illinois.

WORKSHOPS & OTHER SESSIONS FOR WHICH NO WRITTEN RECORD WAS MADE

Nontraditional Reinsurance

Chairperson: H. Michael Shumrak Co-Chairperson: Stephen F. Kraysler

Designing a Field Compensation Structure

Chairperson: Timothy P. Schiltz
Co-Chairperson: Paul A. McCoy

Financial Integration of the Pricing Process

Chairperson: Gregory M. Mateja Co-Chairperson: Michele E. Mateja

Pricing Actuary Versus Valuation Actuary

Chairperson: Curtis E. Huntington
Co-Chairperson: Terence B. Martin

Measuring Interest Margins

Chairperson: Roger W. Smith
Co-Chairperson: Edward F. Cowman

Corporate Management Game

Faculty: Peter J. Bondy

Robert M. Katz Rogert F. Ray

Product Features Versus Investment Policy

Chairperson: Charles E. Ritzke
Co-Chairperson: Robert Ozenbaugh

Reinsurance Marketplace Developments

Chairpersons: David B. Atkinson

Paul A. Schuster

Co-Chairpersons: Kenneth Duane Thieme

David N. Wylde

Measuring Interest Margins

Chairperson: Robert M. Beuerlein

Surplus Management

Chairperson: Allan W. Ryan

