RECORD OF SOCIETY OF ACTUARIES 1992 VOL. 18 NO. 2

WORKSHOPS AND OTHER SESSIONS FOR WHICH NO WRITTEN RECORD WAS MADE

Listed below are the sessions held at the Chicago Meeting for which no written record was made, with the names of those who served as leaders.

Effective Meeting Management

Moderator: Jonathan Rosenblith Instructor: Andrew Sherwood*

Public Pension Plans

Co-Chairpersons: Sandor Goldstein Larry A. Johansen

New Associates' Workshop

Chairperson:
Speakers:
Judy Feldman Anderson
Robert C. Campbell
John E. O'Connor, Jr.†

Walter S. Rugland

Ethics

Chairperson: John O. Nigh

Service Excellence -- What Does This Mean for Actuaries?

Chairperson: Bruce A. Marotta
Co-Chairperson Ben T. Nelson‡

Has Direct Marketing Undergone a Transformation?

Chairperson: Charles R. Haskins
Co-Chairperson: Edward P. Mohoric

Investment Section Breakfast

Leader: Eric P. Lofgren
Speaker: Jess B. Yawitz§

Nontraditional Marketing Section Breakfast

Leader: E. Perry Kupferman Speaker: Frank S. Polizzi ||

- * Mr. Sherwood, not a member of the sponsoring organizations, is President of Andrew Sherwood & Associates Ltd. in Ontario, Canada.
- † Mr. O'Connor is Executive Director of the Society of Actuaries.
- † Mr. Nelson, not a member of the sponsoring organizations, is Department Executive of Harris Trust & Savings Banks in Chicago, Illinois.
- § Mr. Yawitz, not a member of the sponsoring organizations, is Executive Vice President and ClO of National Investment Services in St. Louis, Missouri.
- Mr. Polizzi, not a member of the sponsoring organizations, is President of Mass Marketing Insurance Group in Wayne, Pennsylvania.

RECORD, VOLUME 18

Dialogue with the Joint Board

Moderator: Alan J. Schutz
Panelist: Leslie S. Shapiro*

Small-Plan Issues

Chairperson: Arthur H. Tepfer

Communicating to Management

Moderator: Charles Wittenberg
Faculty: Patricia Barker Mallinder†

Designing & Pricing Considerations for Direct Response Market-Driven Offers

Instructors: Gary A. Kauffman‡

H. Michael Shumrak

Plan Termination Issues

Chairperson: Raymond V. Ostfeld Co-Chairperson: Richard W. Davids

Coping with the Environment of the 1990s

Chairperson: Nancy A. Manning
Co-Chairperson: H. Neil Lund

Maximum Deduction Limit Issues

Co-Chairpersons Therese A. Marske
Wayne E. Christenson

Mr. Shapiro, not a member of the sponsoring organizations, is Executive Director for the Joint Board for the Enrollment of Actuaries of the Internal Revenue Service Department of Treasury in Washington, District of Columbia.

Ms. Mallinder, not a member of the sponsoring organizations, is President of Barker & Associates in Naperville, Illinois.

Mr. Kauffman, not a member of the sponsoring organizations, is President of the Direct Marketing Advisory Group in Rye, New York.