RECORD OF SOCIETY OF ACTUARIES 1993 VOL. 19 NO. 1B

SESSIONS WITH NO WRITTEN RECORD

Listed below are the sessions held at the San Diego Meeting for which no written record was made, with the names of those who served as leaders.

Individual Medical (Advanced)

Chairperson: Roger R. Solomon
Co-Chairperson: Bernard Rabinowitz

Computer-Assisted Learning

Chairperson: Arnold F. Shapiro Co-Chairperson: William J. Gibbs*

Issues for Blue Cross Actuaries

Chairperson: Ernest J. Lampron
Co-Chairperson: Janet D. McGowin

Individual Medical (Basic)

Chairperson: Mark E. Litow

Health Coverage Around the World

Chairperson: Bruce S. Pyenson Co-Chairperson: Robert N. Parke

New Associates' Breakfast and Orientation

Chairperson: Judy Feldman Anderson

Speakers: Richard S. Bilisoly

Douglas C. Borton Alan D. Ford John E. O'Connor† R. Stephen Radcliffe

Dialogue with the IRS

Leader: John Vieira

Faculty: James E. Holland

Health Insurance Trends

Instructor: Peter K. Reilly

Small-Group Reform

Chairperson: Joseph W. Moran

HMO Issues

Chairperson: Andrew B. Wang
Co-Chairperson: James Earl Gingrich, Jr.

* Mr. Gibbs, not a member of the sponsoring organizations, is with Pennsylvania State University in University Park, Pennsylvania.

† Mr. O'Connor is Executive Director of the Society of Actuaries.

RECORD, VOLUME 19

HMO Issues

Chairperson: Joseph N. Romano Co-Chairperson: John K. Ninomiya

Large-Group Issues (>250 Lives) Advanced

Chairperson: Earl L. Hoffman
Co-Chairperson: Cynthia L. Bennett

Pavroll Deduction of P&C Products

Chairperson: Richard C. Ernst Co-Chairperson: Bradford S. Gile

Employee Benefits: Products and Practices Around the World

Chairperson: Subramanian Sundaresan
Co-Chairperson: Peter Lewis Godfrey

Pension Section Luncheon

Speakers: John M. Bertko Sam Gutterman

Health Section Luncheon

Speakers: John M. Bertko
Sam Gutterman

Dialogue with the Joint Board

Moderator: Donald J. Segal Panel: Leslie S. Shapiro*

Small-Group Reform

Chairperson: Martin S. Huey
Co-Chairperson: Jim H. Srite

Stop-Loss (Advanced)

Chairperson: Gregory W. Parker
Co-Chairperson: Michael R. McLean

Individual Disability Income

Chairperson: William J. Thompson
Co-Chairperson: David W. Libbey

Expense Management

Chairperson: James N. Roberts
Co-Chairperson: Darrell D. Knapp

Schedule B Issues and Problems

Chairperson: Neil A. Parmenter
Co-Chairperson: Robert R. Mitchell

* Mr. Shapiro, not a member of the sponsoring organizations, is Executive Director for the Enrollment of Actuaries, IRS, Department of Treasury in Washington, District of Columbia.

SESSIONS WITH NO WRITTEN RECORD

Computer Science Section Breakfast/Issues in Information Technology

Leader: Kerry A. Krantz

Managing Outrageous Healthcare Costs

Instructor: Clark E. Slipher

Goal Setting and Achievement - Art or Science

Instructor: Elaine Mandrish

Small-Group Reform

Chairperson: Gerald W. Griswold
Co-Chairperson: Richard M. Niemiec

Nonforfeiture Values for Long Term Care

Chairperson: Jerry W. Fiekes

Health Insurance Trends (Advanced)

Chairperson: John C. Lloyd

Health Insurance and the Appointed Actuary

Chairperson: John A. Hartnedy

Extended Service Warranty Contracts

Chairperson: Thomas Ciaraffo Co-Chairperson: Gajinderpal S. Gill

Small-Group Reform

Chairperson: Timothy M. Harrington
Co-Chairperson: James E. Drennan

FAS 106

Chairperson: Daniel M. Scheibenreif
Co-Chairperson: Margaret E. Pearson

Home Care/Home Health Care is Hot!

Chairperson: Peggy L. Hauser
Co-Chairperson: Patricia A. Peebles

Group LTD

Chairperson: Julia T. Philips
Co-Chairperson: Arthur L. Baldwin

Health Reinsurance for Reinsurance Actuaries

Chairperson: Andrew M. Perkins
Co-Chairperson: Stuart B. Grodanz

Uses of Hedging in Pension Funds

Chairperson: Michael Walter Peskin
Co-Chairperson: John (Jeff) F. Mulholland

RECORD, VOLUME 19

Secrets to Better Writing Skills

Chairperson: Debra H. Sanders*

Multiemployer Plan Issues

Chairperson: James Laws
Co-Chairperson: Martin Stempel

Dynamic Solvency Testing/Reporting

Chairperson: James F. Reiskytl

Group Rating Methods for Fully Credible Groups (Basic)

Chairperson: Richard Kipp

Small-Group Reform

Chairperson: David W. Wille
Co-Chairperson: Robert S. Richards

Risk-Based Capital

Chairperson: Darryl D. Knapp

Small-Group Reform

Chairperson: Darlene H. Davis
Co-Chairperson: Paul S. Graham III

Individual Disability Income

Chairperson: Charles N. Bieter
Co-Chairperson: David E. Scarlett

MEWAs/METs

Chairperson: James E. Drennan
Co-Chairperson: Timothy M. Harrington

Medicare Supplement (Advanced)

Chairperson: Susan C. Morisato
Co-Chairperson: Julie Marie Gwizdek

Presentation of Assets in the Pension Actuarial Valuation

Chairperson: Michael Kantor
Co-Chairperson: Marilyn Miller Oliver

Public Plans

Chairperson: Rick A. Roeder

ESOPs

Chairperson: Keith A. Grassel

* Ms. Sanders, not a member of the sponsoring organizations, is President of Sanders Editorial in Tuscon, Arizona.

SESSIONS WITH NO WRITTEN RECORD

Actuarial Health Committees

Chairperson: Sam Gutterman
Co-Chairperson: Howard J. Bolnick

Small-Group Reform

Chairperson: Carol J. McCall

Co-Chairperson: Daniel Edward Winslow

Long-Term Care -- Individual

Chairperson: Regina V. Rohner
Co-Chairperson: Spencer Koppel

Stop-Loss (Intermediate)

Chairperson: Martin S. Huey Co-Chairperson: Karl C. Chen

Large-Group (250 Lives) Topics (Advanced)

Chairperson: Anthony van Werkhooven

Dread Disease, Hospital Income, and Other Limited Benefit Plans
Chairperson:
Brett J. Gant
Co-Chairperson:
Douglas M. Price

