

Article from:

The Actuary

December 1990 – Volume 24, No. 11

SOA volunteers: the architects who built the bridges

undreds of Society of Actuaries members each year contribute to the success of its programs in many different ways. Those who serve on the Board of Governors and on committees, subcommittees, and task forces spend countless hours working to advance the goals of the Society and the actuarial profession. Below are listed those who accepted leadership roles as members of the Board of Governors. As for all the others who worked in a myriad of other capacities, be assured that your work is appreciated. You know who you are.

1989-90 Board of Governors

Officers

President

Allan D. Affleck

President-Elect

Daphne D. Bartlett

Vice Presidents

Barnet N. Berin

(Pensions and Social Insurance)

Phyllis A. Doran

(Education and Examination)

Curtis E. Huntington (Research

and Studies)

Burton D. Jay

(Continuing Education)

Donald R. Sondergeld (Career

Development: Special Interest

Sections: Strengthening

Relationships between

Universities and the

Actuarial Profession)

Michael R. Winn, (Principles

and Valuation)

Anthony T. Spano, Secretary

(Publications; Liaison

Representative)

Michael J. Cowell, Treasurer

(Administration and Finance)

Past Presidents

Immediate Past President

Ian M. Rolland

Penultimate Past President

Gary Corbett

Elected

H. David Allen

Nicholas Bauer

Thomas P. Bleakney

Howard J. Bolnick

William Carroll

Christopher D. Chapman

James A. Curtis

Arnold A. Dicke

Yves G. Guerard

Sam Gutterman

Michael E. Mateja

Daniel J. McCarthy

Daniel F. McGinn

C.S. (Kit) Moore

Bartley L. Munson

Harry H. Panjer

Diane Wallace

John B. Yanko