

## SOCIETY OF ACTUARIES

Article from:

# The Actuary

December 1995 - Volume 29, No. 10

### **Awards and honors**

#### Ed Lew, Chairman Emeritus of the Committee on Life Insurance Research

At the October Board of Governor's meeting, the Board conferred upon Edward A. Lew the title of Chairman Emeritus of the Committee on Life Insurance Research. Lew was recognized for his many contributions to the Society's research activities and his "enthusiasm, energy, and support of the activities of the Committee on Life Insurance Research." His service has spanned six decades, including serving as the 1973-74 SOA president.

#### **AERF 1995 prizes**

Dr. Gary Parker, ASA, professor in the Mathematics and Statistics Department at Simon Fraser University, Vancouver, received the \$1,000 Everett Curtis Huntington Prize for "Stochastic Analysis of the Interaction between Investment and Insurance Risks." This prize honors the best research paper that receives Associateship or Fellowship credit in the Society's education program for research papers. It will be published in *ARCH* 1996.2.

Two 1993 papers by Knut K. Aase, professor at the Norwegian School of Economics and Business Administration's Institute of Finance and Management Science in Bergen, Norway, received the \$750 David Garrick Halmstad Prize for the best actuarial research papers published in 1993. They are "Equilibrium in a Reinsurance Syndicate; Existence, Uniqueness and Characterization," published in the *ASTIN Bulletin* 23, No. 2 (1993), and "Premiums in a

AERF establishes James C.H. Anderson Memorial



Curtis Huntington (center), executive director of the Actuarial Education and Research Fund (AERF), signs a Memorandum of Understanding that establishes the James C.H. Anderson Memorial. Administered by AERF, the memorial will reward innovative individual achievements in financial and actuarial matters. Anderson was a distinguished actuary and a pioneer in new products and practices, introducing universal life insurance in 1975. Contributors of \$100 or more receive a collection of Anderson's works in CD-ROM; contributors of \$1,000 or more receive a book and CD-ROM. Members of the Anderson Memorial Group pictured here are: (standing, L-R) Brian Lewis, Jack Turnquist, Bill Ferguson, and Rolph Masecar. AERF Board members pictured here are: (seated, L-R) LeRoy Boison, Curtis Huntington, and Charles Barry Watson.

#### Gerber and Shiu win Annual Prize



Hans U. Gerber (left), University of Lausanne, Switzerland, accepts the Annual Prize from President Bob Berin for the TSA paper, "Option Pricing by Esscher Transforms," co-authored with Elias Shiu, University of Iowa. It was selected as the best paper accepted for publication in the Transactions between July 1, 1994, and June 30, 1995. The paper is in Vol. 46.

Dynamic Model of a Reinsurance Market," published in the 1993 Scandinavian Actuarial Journal.

Dr. Sarah L.M. Christiansen, FSA, assistant corporate actuary at The Principal Financial Group, Des Moines, received the AERF Practitioners Award and \$1,000 for her paper, "Representative Interest Rate Scenarios." This award is for the best research done by actuaries in a nonacademic environment.

> From the editors and the staff of The Actuary, thanks for your readership and support in 1995 and best wishes for a happy and prosperous 1996.