

SOCIETY OF ACTUARIES

Article from:

The Actuary

November 1994 - Volume 28, No. 9

Murphy steps down, Academy begins search for new executive vice president

im Murphy, executive vice president of the American Academy of Actuaries, has announced he will leave his post by year-end. He submitted his resignation, effective December 31, 1994, to the Academy Board of Directors, which has formed a blueribbon task force to seek a replacement.

The Academy's chief staff officer since 1989, Murphy stated in his resignation letter that he had extended his original five-year commitment to the Academy for an additional year to oversee the organization's health care reform efforts, and he felt his primary goals for the Academy had been accomplished.

Under Murphy's leadership, the Academy expanded its role as the

public policy voice of the actuarial profession. A highlight of Murphy's tenure was the establishment of the Academy's government information department, whose efforts have led to increased respect for the profession among federal and state public policy makers. Other accomplishments during Murphy's six-year tenure were founding the Actuarial Board for Counseling and Discipline, the magazine *Contingencies*, and the Forecast 2000 public relations campaign.

To assist in the search for Murphy's successor, the Academy has retained executive search consultants Heidrick & Struggles of Washington, D.C. The consultants will work with the selection task force, chaired by Jack Turnquist. Other members of the task force include Ronald Bornhuetter, Harry Garber, Jim MacGinnitie, Ian Rolland, and Barry Watson, all former presidents of U.S.-based actuarial organizations.

The search announcement states that the Academy executive director serves as the actuarial profession's primary spokesperson to public policy makers, the media, and other outside audiences. The search will consider both actuaries and non-actuaries. Those wishing to provide a nomination or to apply for the position should direct correspondence to Eugene M. Rackley, Heidrick & Struggles, 1301 K Street NW, Suite 500 East, Washington, DC 20005.



As the result of Section elections, 13 special interest Sections have added new Council members with three-year terms:

Actuary of the Future

David Fishbaum, Jeffrey Harper, Joseph Rafson, Ronald Witt*

Computer Science Allen Rothman, Stephen Strommen, Matt Tucker

Education and Research Roy Goldman, Bruce Leonard Jones, S. David Promislow

Financial Reporting J. Peter Duran, J. Helmut Engels, Craig Raymond

Futurism E. Tom Hughes, Subramanian "Mani" Sundaresan, Robert Utter

Health

Tony Hammond, Barbara Niehus, Lynette Trygstad*, John Woolsey

International

Bill Bugg, Virginia Margarita Davis, Bob Katz

Investment Michael Cohen, Steven Miller, Stephen Reddy, Prakash Shimpi**

Nontraditional Marketing Joseph Brennan, Curtiss Sheldon, Ronald Wobbeking

Pension Joe Applebaum*, Richard Joss, James Kenney, Joan Weiss

Product Development John Fenton, Alan Ryder, Linda Streck

Reinsurance Le Roy H. Christenson, Donald Kiefer, Thomas Skillman

Smaller Insurance Company Norma Christopher, John W. McKee, III**, James Pilgrim, James Van Elsen

- * Serving for two years to replace a member with an unexpired term
- ** Serving for one year to replace a member with an unexpired term