

## SOCIETY OF ACTUARIES

Article from:

## The Actuary

October 1999 - volume 33 - Issue 08

The Newsletter of the Society of Actuaries



Vol. 33, No. 8 October 1999

# Actuary

### President-Elect Brown, new officers announced

by Linda Heacox SOA Manager of Marketing Communications

R obert L. Brown has been elected SOA president-elect for 1999-2000. Brown is a Fellow of the Society and of the Canadian Institute of Actuaries (CIA) and an Associate of the Casualty Actuarial Society, and he was 1990-91 CIA president. He is a professor in the Department of Statistics and Actuarial Science, University of Waterloo, Waterloo, Ontario, and also is a consultant in private practice.

Brown will take office Oct. 20 during the SOA annual meeting, Oct. 17-20, San Francisco. His term as SOA president will begin the following

#### Inside this issue

Editorial2
New era in financial services3 by Jose Montemayor
Finance corner5
Looking to the millennium7
<b>Global actuarial education8</b> by Steve Radcliffe
50th annual meeting10
Bowles symposium12
Help a future actuary13 by C. Nelson Strom
In memoriam15
Actucrostic16

#### October.

Brown was a 1992-95 member of the SOA Board of Governors and a 1997-99 vice president. He has also served on numerous SOA committees, including those on actuarial education and examinations, technology, and social insurance.

#### Vice presidents, board members elected

The SOA also elected three vice presidents and six new board members.

Newly elected vice presidents, whose two-year terms begin in October, are David N. Becker, vice president and chief actuarial officer, Lincoln National Life Insurance, Fort Wayne, Ind.; Morris W. Chambers, vice president and senior actuary/corporate, London Life Insurance Company, London, Ontario; and Stephen G. Kellison, senior vice president and chief actuary, American General Retirement Services, Houston, Texas.

Elected to three-year terms on the board were Vincent Amoroso, partner, Deloitte & Touche, LLP, Washington, D.C.; William J. Bugg, Jr., senior vice president and corporate actuary, AFLAC, Columbus, Ga.; Thomas R. Corcoran, consulting actuary, Tillinghast-Towers Perrin, Weatogue,



Robert L. Brown President-Elect

Conn.; Edward L. Robbins, senior actuary, Zurich-Kemper Life Insurance Companies, Long Grove, Ill.; Shirley Hwei-Chung Shao, vice president and associate actuary, Prudential Insurance Company, Newark, N.J.; and Judy L. Strachan, vice president and actuary, Prudential Insurance Company, Roseland, N.J.

#### New members of Section councils

The SOA's 15 Sections elected new members to their councils. They hold three-year terms unless otherwise noted.

- Actuary of the Future Sheryl M. Babcock Thomas G. Kabele Robert G. Utter
- Computer Science Jeffrey A. K. Dick Susan M. Lee Joseph L. Tupper

#### New SOA officers (continued from page 1)

- Education and Research James W. Daniel Robert J. Meyers David P. M. Scollnik
- *Financial Reporting* John F. Bevacqua (one year) James P. Greaton David Y. Rogers Barry L. Shemin
- *Futurism* Steven W. Easson Frank A. Hacker Bradley J. Joern
- *Health* Robert R. McGee Mary P. Ratelle (one year) Daniel D. Skwire Anthony J. Wittmann
- International Lisa S. Kuklinski-Ramirez Hubert B. Mueller Hans J. Wagner
- *Investment* Steven L. Craighead Douglas A. George (one-year term) Victor Modugno Max J. Rudolph
- Management & Personal Development Michael Braunstein Christopher Ruckman Tyree S. Wooldridge
- Nontraditional Marketing Michael L. Fix
  T. Michael Presley
  W. Howell Pugh
- *Pension* Paul Angelo Thomas B. Lowman John F. Wade
- **Product Development** Mary J. Bahna-Nolan Lorraine W. Mayne Ken A. McCullum
- *Reinsurance* Timothy J. Alford Robert W. Beal Robert L. Buckner (two years) Jeffrey S. Katz
- *Smaller Insurance Company* Edward F. Cowman

David N. Becker

**New Vice Presidents** 



0.01

Morris W. Chambers

Stephen G. Kellison

#### **New Board Members**



Vincent Amoroso



William J. Bugg, Jr.



Thomas R. Corcoran



Edward L. Robbins



Shirley Hwei-Chung Shao

R. Dale Hall Paul R. Retzlaff *Long Term Care Insurance* (This new Section's first council was elected in June 1999.) Loida R. Abraham Michael S. Abroe (one year) Gary L. Brace (two years)



Judy L. Strachan

David W. Dickson (one year) James M. Glickman (two years) Gregory A. Gurlik Andrew J. Herman (one year) Amy Pahl (two years) William C. Weller