

## Article from:

# The Stepping Stone

November 1999 – Issue No. 2

#### THE STEPPING STONE

Issue Number 2, November 1999

Published quarterly by the Management & Personal Development Section of the Society of Actuaries

475 N. Martingale Road, Suite 800 Schaumburg, IL 60173 Phone: 847-706-3500 Fax: 847-706-3599

World Wide Web: http://www.soa.org

This newsletter is free to Section members. A subscription is \$15.00 for nonmembers.

#### Michael M. Braunstein, ASA, MAAA

The Stepping Stone News Editor ACTEX Publications, Inc. 140 Willow Street P.O. Box 974 Winsted, CT 06098 860-379-5470 860-738-3152 (Fax) E-mail: michael@actexmadriver.com

#### Management and Personal Development Section Council

Gregory R. Childs, Chairperson Lisa F. Tourville, Vice-Chairperson Edward B. Martin, Treasurer James R. Trefz, Secretary Michael M. Braunstein, Council Member Philip J. Lehpamer, Council Member Vincent G. Mace, Jr., Council Member Daniel L. Shinnick, Council Member Dean L. Taylor, Council Member

#### **SOA Staff**

Cecilia Green, APR, CAE, Director of **Integrated Communications** (cgreen@soa.org) Joe Adduci, DTP Coordinator

(jadduci@soa.org)

Lois Chinnock, Section Coordinator (lchinnock@soa.org)

Facts and opinions contained in these pages are the responsibility of the persons who express them and should not be attributed to the Society of Actuaries, its Committees, the Management and Personal Development Section, or the employers of the authors. Errors in fact, if brought to our attention, will be promptly corrected.

Copyright © 1999 Society of Actuaries. All rights reserved. Printed in the United States of America.

# Message from the Chairperson

by Gregory R. Childs

ince this is the last newsletter that will be published during my term as Chairperson of the Management and Personal Development Section, I would like to use this column to recognize several people who are involved with our section.

Ed Martin and Dean Taylor are Council members whose terms expire at the annual meeting in San Francisco and I thank them for their many contributions to our new Section and for their work in the years before we gained section status.

To replace Ed and Dean, the Council welcomes Chris Ruckman and Ty Wooldridge who were recently elected to serve terms of three years. Thank you to Chris and Ty for volunteering their time and talents and we look forward to working with you. The third person elected to a three-year term is current Council member Michael Braunstein who was elected last year to the first Council for a one-year term. Michael is a past chairperson of the Management and Personal Development Committee, the predecessor to this Section, and has served our cause for many years. In addition he is the editor of this newsletter. I appreciate Michael's willingness to continue serving our members.

I would like to thank all the members of this year's Council. They have done excellent work preparing sessions for SOA meetings, serving on meeting program committees, and speaking at meetings. All Council members have contributed their time and ideas to the purpose of the Section. It has been a true team effort and I thank you all.

Lois Chinnock, SOA Section coordinator, has done a wonderful job supporting the operation of the Section and has been invaluable in helping us through our first year and breaking us in to how the SOA runs its Sections. Thank you, Lois, for your patience and your assistance.

Finally, Vice-Chairperson Lisa Tourville will assume the duties of chairperson of the Section at the San



Francisco meeting. Lisa has brought great enthusiasm and many good ideas to the Council and I thank her for her efforts during my term as chairperson. I have great confidence in her ability to lead the Management and Personal Development Section forward in the next year.

Gregory R. Childs, FSA, is second vice president & actuary, Lincoln National Life Insurance Company in Fort Wayne,



### Congratulations and Thanks Are in Order

Congratulations to our new Council members:

- Chris Ruckman
- Ty Wooldridge
- Michael Braunstein (Re-elected)

Thanks to those who terms have expired:

- **Edward Martin**
- Dean Taylor