Announcement: SOA releases October 2019 Exam FM passing candidate numbers.

Society of Actuaries Recognizes Actuarial Program at Heriot-Watt University in Scotland

Schaumburg, IL (January 10, 2018) – The Society of Actuaries(SOA) named the actuarial science program from Heriot-Watt University, based in Edinburgh, Scotland in the United Kingdom, as one of the SOA’s Centers of Actuarial Excellence (CAE). Heriot-Watt University joins the ranks of 30 other schools with this designation from the SOA.

College and university actuarial science programs can apply for the CAE designation, which acknowledges outstanding programs. In order to qualify for the designation, school programs must meet the eight rigorous criteria and specific CAE requirements. These criteria involve the degree, curriculum, graduate count, faculty composition, graduate quality, appropriate integration, and connection to industry and research/scholarships. Schools with this designation are eligible for CAE-specific education and research grants from the SOA.

The list of CAE schools include those in Hong Kong; The Chinese University of Hong Kong and the University of Hong Kong; along with those in Canada; the Université du Québec à Montréal, Concordia University-Montreal,  University of Toronto, University of Waterloo, Université Laval, University of Manitoba, Simon Fraser University and Western University. The CAE schools in Australia include the Australian National University, Macquarie University, the University of Melbourne and the University of New South Wales. The CAE schools in the United States include, Drake University, Georgia State University, Illinois State University, Pennsylvania State University, Robert Morris University, St. John's University, Temple University, Towson University, University of Connecticut, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, University of Iowa, University of Michigan, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, University of St. Thomas, University of Wisconsin-Madison, and the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee.

Schools maintain the CAE designation for a five-year period, subject to their conformity to the CAE criteria. Visit  for more details about the CAE.

About the Society of Actuaries

With roots dating back to 1889, the Society of Actuaries (SOA) is the world's largest actuarial professional organization with more than 28,000 actuaries as members. Through research and education, the SOA's mission is to advance actuarial knowledge and to enhance the ability of actuaries to provide expert advice and relevant solutions for financial, business and societal challenges. The SOA's vision is for actuaries to be the leading professionals in the measurement and management of risk.