Planned Maintenance: SOA login will be intermittently unavailable from Saturday, June 19th 11:00PM CST to Sunday, June 20th 5:00AM CST.

Health Section – 2021 Leadership

Mission Statement

The purpose of the section shall be to prepare health actuaries for positions of leadership and promote the relevance of health actuaries in the marketplace by:

  • Providing relevant educational opportunities and member communications
  • Facilitating practical research, and
  • Continually expanding the marketplace relevance of the health actuary brand.


Joan Barrett, Chairperson

Doug Norris, Vice-Chairperson

Kevin Francis, Secretary/Treasurer

Council Members

Deana Bell

Casey Hammer

Craig Kalman

Matt Kramer

Wendy Kwan

Shuaiqing Liu

Shereen Sayre

Sudha Shenoy

Kelsey Stevens

Newsletter Editor

Casey Hammer

Matt Kramer

SOA Staff

Ladelia Berger, Section Specialist

Achilles Natsis, Staff Actuary