Taxation Section – 2018 Leadership

Mission Statement

The mission of the section is to advance the actuarial profession by assisting members of the section with the educational, research, networking and other specialized needs that arise in matters related to taxation. This includes tax issues related to life insurance companies, insurance and annuity products and qualified and non-qualified employee benefit plans.


Housseine Essaheb, Chair
Tony Litterer, Vice-Chair
Bill Lehnen, Secretary/Treasurer

Council Members

Mark Smith, Affiliate Member
Michelle Cramer
Sivakumar Desai
Tom Edwalds
Phil Ferrari
Jeff Harper
S. Vincent Zink

Newsletter Editors

Jim Van Etten
Larry Hersh

Editorial Board

John Adney
Ann Cammack
Mary Elizabeth Caramagno
Sheryl Flum
Rick Gelfond
Brian King
Samuel Mitchell
Kristin Norberg
Arthur Schneider
Mark Smith
Gregory Stephenson
Daniel Stringham

SOA Staff

Beth Bernardi, Staff Partner
Ladelia Berger, Section Specialist