Actuaries - Risk is Opportunity
Actuarial Directory
Search by:
Advanced Search
My Account
CPD Requirements
Learn more about the SOA CPD requirement.
Exam Registration
Register for exams and requirements.
View professional development opportunities.
Find a section

University and College Programs

Centers of Actuarial Excellence (CAE): CAEs meet specific requirements related to degree, curriculum, graduate count, faculty composition, graduate quality, appropriate integration, connection to industry, and research/scholarship. These are typically undergraduate-advanced programs; some of them also offer graduate-education or graduate-education and research.

Undergraduate–Introductory: Curriculum covers all topics on the first CAS/SOA exam, and includes intro. math of finance & micro/macro economics courses.

Undergraduate–Advanced: Curriculum covers all topics on first two CAS/SOA exams plus 12 semester hrs. of topics on third and fourth.

Graduate–Education: Curriculum covers all topics on the first four CAS/SOA exams. Program leads to a Masters degree.

Graduate–Education and Research: Curriculum covers all of the topics on the first four CAS/SOA exams and includes at least 6 sem. hrs. of courses covering advanced actuarial science topics. Program has a research component and leads to a Masters or Ph.D. degree.

Other: Offers some courses relating to actuarial science – in the process of upgrading program.