Announcement: Access the latest SOA updates on COVID-19 at

Due to unusually high email volume in Customer Service, you may experience a longer response time than usual. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause.

Candidates for 2017 Section Election Announced

The Society of Actuaries sponsors 20 professional interest sections, each with a section council which plans and executes the activities of the section in line with its mission. Councils range in size from nine to 12 members, elected by section members. Each year, one-third of each council is replaced by new volunteers.

Below is a list of this year's section council candidates and the biographical information and answers to the questions they provided. Biographies are limited to identification of employment, major fields of professional activity, service in the Society of Actuaries, and other relevant experience. Candidate names are listed on the ballot, and in this document, in the order in which they were received.

Elections are now closed.


Actuary of the Future  (vote for 3)

  • Tim Van Laarhoven, ASA, MAAA
  • Melissa Carruthers, FSA, FCIA
  • Minyu Cao, FSA, CERA

Education & Research  (vote for 3)

  • Hal Tepfer, FSA, MAAA, EA, MSPA, FCA
  • Thomas Wakefield, FSA
  • Colin M. Ramsay, PhD, ASA, MAAA
  • Guangwei (George) Fan, ASA

Entrepreneurial & Innovation  (vote for 5)

  • Chris Greig, ASA, CERA, ACIA
  • Helen Colterman, FSA, ACIA, CERA, MAAA
  • Melissa Carruthers, FSA, FCIA
  • Tamara Lea Wilt, ASA, MAAA
  • Jennifer Healy, FSA, MAAA
  • Joseph Paesani, FSA, MAAA
  • Justin Yiu, ASA
  • Eric T. Sondergeld, ASA, CFA

Financial Reporting  (vote for 3)

  • David C. Armstrong, FSA, MAAA
  • Ross Zilber, FSA, MAAA, CFA, FRM, CLU, ChFC
  • Enzinma Miller, FSA, MAAA
  • Lance Berthiaume, FSA, MAAA
  • Jenn Nam, FSA, MAAA, CFA
  • Tian Shee (Gary) Shia, FSA, CERA, MAAA

Health   (vote for 4)

  • Jacqueline Lee, FSA, MAAA
  • Rick Pawelski, FSA, MAAA, CERA
  • Marilyn McGaffin, ASA, MAAA, FLMI
  • Zachary Aters, ASA, MAAA
  • Geof Hileman, FSA, MAAA
  • Evan Morgan, ASA, MAAA, PhD

International  (vote for 3)

  • Arpita Das, FSA
  • Yanjie Feng, FSA, MAAA
  • Payam Hashemieh, ASA
  • Susan Mateja, FSA, MAAA
  • Beibei Li, ASA
  • Peter Yang, FSA
  • Sudha Shenoy, FSA, CERA, MAAA

Investment  (vote for 4)

  • Erik Thoren, FSA, CERA, MAAA
  • Alan Chan, ASA
  • Hal Pedersen, ASA
  • Suhrid Swaminarayan, FSA, CFA, FRM, FIA

Joint Risk Management   (vote for 4)

  • Ribhi Alam, FSA
  • Siew Chen Ow, FSA, CERA, MAAA, CFA
  • Chet Szczepanski, FCAS, MAAA
  • Xiaobin Cao, FCAS
  • Florian Richard, FCAS

Leadership & Development  (vote for 3)

  • James F. Clark, FSA, MAAA
  • Ying Zhao, FSA, MAAA, FRM
  • Ryan Bruner, FSA, MAAA
  • Michael Prendes, FSA, MAAA
  • Brent Walder, FSA, MAAA
  • Annie Xue, FSA, MAAA, CERA

Long Term Care Insurance  (vote for 3)

  • Aaron Weatherman, FSA, CERA, MAAA, EA
  • Matthew Morton, FSA, MAAA
  • Mike Bergerson, FSA, MAAA
  • Jamala Murray Arland, FSA, MAAA
  • Jan Graeber, ASA, MAAA

Marketing & Distribution  (vote for 3)

  • Zachary Aters, ASA, MAAA
  • Mark Friederich, FSA, MAAA
  • Manoj Gandhi, FSA, FCIA
  • Brendan Costello, ASA
  • Brian Pauley, FSA, MAAA

Modeling   (vote for 3)

  • Eric Schwartz, FSA, MAAA
  • Corey A. Carriker, FSA, MAAA
  • Zohair Motiwalla, FSA, MAAA
  • Isaac Maycotte, FSA, CERA, MAAA
  • Vikas Sharan, FSA, FIA, MAAA, CFA
  • Hoi Yan (Daphne) Kwan, FSA, MAAA
  • Shar Choi, ASA, ACIA
  • Robert Crompton, FSA, MAAA

Pension   (vote for 3)

  • Thomas (Tom) McNab, FSA
  • John G. Eng, FSA, EA
  • Mathieu Laurendeau, FSA, FCIA
  • Sanket Bhimani, ASA, ACIA, MAAA
  • Tom Sablak, FSA, EA, MAAA, FCA
  • Ruth E. Schau, FSA, EA, FCA
  • Thomas Perko, FSA, EA

Predictive Analytics & Futurism   (vote for 3)

  • Roujie (Joy) Chen, ASA, CERA
  • Nathan Pohle, FSA, CERA ,MAAA
  • Cassie Minyu He, FSA, MAAA

Product Development  (vote for 3)

  • Benjamin Wadsley, FSA, MAAA
  • Yuan Tao, FSA, MAAA, CFA
  • Leonard Mangini, FSA, FRM, FALU, CLU, ChFC, MAAA
  • Curt Clingerman, FSA, MAAA
  • Anthony Ferraro, FSA, MAAA

Reinsurance  (vote for 3)

  • Laura Muse, FSA, MAAA
  • Olivia Yang, FSA, CERA, MAAA
  • Xueli Zhang, FSA, MAAA, CFA
  • James Christou, FSA, MAAA, FCIA
  • Kyle Bauer, FSA, MAAA, CERA
  • Jean-Marc Fix, FSA, MAAA

Smaller Insurance Company  (vote for 4)

  • Jacqueline Yang, FSA, MAAA, ACIA
  • Carolyn Covington, FSA, CERA, MAAA
  • Kevin Dill, FSA, MAAA
  • Stephen Rook, FSA, MAAA
  • Pamela Hutchins, FSA, MAAA

Social Insurance & Public Finance  (vote for 3)

  • Carlos Fuentes, FSA, FCA, MAAA
  • Douglas Fiddler, ASA, MAAA, EA, FCA
  • Janet Cranna, FSA, MAAA, EA, FCA, MSPA
  • W. James Koss, ASA, MAAA, EA, FCA
  • James J. Rizzo, ASA, MAAA, FCA, EA

Taxation  (vote for 3)

  • Sivakumar Desai, FSA, MAAA
  • S. Vincent Zink, FSA, MAAA
  • Tom Edwalds, FSA, ACAS, MAAA

Technology  (vote for 3)

  • Hugh Lakshman, FSA, MAAA
  • Henry Han Chen, FSA, ACIA, MAAA
  • Paul San Valentin, FSA, CERA, MAAA
  • Shyam Kolli, FSA, MAAA
  • Ravi Bhagat, FSA, MAAA
  • Shane Kohls, FSA, MAAA
  • Guangwei (George) Fan, ASA