SOA Announces Elections Results

Schaumburg, IL (September 12, 2019)—The Society of Actuaries (SOA) today announced the results of its member voting, with Roy Goldman, Ph.D., FSA, MAAA, CERA, serving as 2019-2020 president-elect. Roy will begin his duties as the 72nd SOA president at the 2020 SOA Annual Meeting and Exhibit, for the 2020-2021 term.

Based in Jacksonville Beach, Fla., Goldman is officially “retired” though remains quite active in the actuarial profession. He previously served as VP and Chief Actuary of Humana and as CFO and Chief Actuary for Geisinger Insurance Operations, Mercy Health Plans, and Prudential’s Group and Healthcare Business Unit. Goldman is a long-time SOA volunteer on education and exams and a past SOA Board member. He is also currently a Board Trustee for The Actuarial Foundation where he is the sponsor and developer of The Modeling the Future Challenge. Goldman served on the Health Advisory Panel for the Congressional Budget Office, helped start the Health Care Cost Institute, and has been active in actuarial research and health policy.

Goldman’s focus will be to ensure actuaries remain relevant and play an ever more influential role for employers and the public. In turn, it will support the SOA’s vision of actuaries being “highly sought-after professionals who develop and communicate solutions for complex financial issues.”

The SOA also announced the newly elected members to the SOA Board of Directors: Robert Eaton, FSA, MAAA; William B. Fornia, FSA, MAAA, EA, FCA; Sharon Giffen, FSA, FCIA, ICD.D; Lisa Kuklinski, FSA, MAAA; and Xu (Vincent) Xuan, FSA, MAAA, CFA.

A total of 5,387 SOA members, or 22.13 percent of eligible voting members, voted in this year's election, compared to approximately 6,005 SOA members, or 25.40 percent, in 2018 and 6,006 SOA members, or 26.25 percent, in 2017. The Canadian reserved seat was filled with these election results, and there was no need to exercise any reserved seat.

There were 3,772 votes from Fellows (or 92.3 percent) to approve the bylaws amendments. The SOA will move forward with changes to the organization’s legal structure and tax-exempt status. For reference, the SOA will create a new not-for-profit entity tax-exempt under Section 501(c)(6) of the Internal Revenue Code, which will adopt the Society of Actuaries name. The current not-for-profit entity, tax exempt under Section 501(c)(3), will become a controlled affiliate of the SOA and will be renamed the Society of Actuaries Research Institute. Learn about the legal structure changes.

The newly elected Board members will be joined by the continuing Board members Sue Blanck, FSA, MAAA; Julie A. Curtis, FSA, MAAA, EA; David M. Dillon, FSA, MAAA; Jennifer Anne Haid, FSA; Christine Hofbeck, FSA, MAAA; Wendy C. Liang, FSA, CERA, MAAA; Terry M. Long, FSA, MAAA; David K. Sandberg, FSA, CERA, MAAA; Sara Corrough Teppema, FSA, MAAA; and Ling-Ling Wang, FSA, CERA, MAAA.

Andrew D. Rallis, FSA, MAAA, will serve as SOA president for the 2019-2020 term and James M. Glickman, FSA, MAAA, CLU, will serve as past president for 2019-2020. Visit the SOA governance page for more information about the SOA Board and the strategic plan.

The SOA thanks the members who have completed their term on the SOA Board. These members rolling off include: past president Mike Lombardi, FSA, CERA, FCIA, MAAA; Andrea Bykerk Christopherson, FSA, MAAA; Eileen F. Luxton, FSA, FCIA; Timothy L. Rozar, FSA, CERA, MAAA, FLMI, ARA, MBA; and Mark M. Yu, FSA, MAAA, CFA, FRM.

About the SOA

With roots dating back to 1889, the Society of Actuaries (SOA) is the world’s largest actuarial professional organization with more than 32,000 actuaries as members. Through research and education, the SOA’s mission is to advance actuarial knowledge and to enhance the ability of actuaries to provide expert advice and relevant solutions for financial, business and societal challenges. The SOA’s vision is for actuaries to be the leading professionals in the measurement and management of risk.