Announcement: Access the latest SOA updates on COVID-19 at

Due to unusually high email volume in Customer Service, you may experience a longer response time than usual. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause.

Research Funding and Grants

The Society of Actuaries (SOA) offers grants and research funding on a variety of topics.

2020 Individual Grants Competition

The Society of Actuaries’ Committee on Knowledge Extension Research and the Casualty Actuarial Society announce the 2020 Individual Grants Competition to support the advancement of knowledge in actuarial science. You are encouraged to submit a brief letter of intent (no more than two pages) to Erika Schulty at by October 18, 2019. For more information, see the Individual Grants announcement.

Research Expanding Boundaries Pool (REX Pool)

Established by the SOA Board of Directors, the Research Expanding Boundaries Pool (REX Pool) funds multi-year, multi-phase projects focused on advancing the actuarial profession. The REX Pool focuses on research projects that impact society, informs perspectives related to public policy, and/or expands the boundaries of actuarial science. The REX Pool funds select research proposal requests. Researchers can also submit their own proposal.

Current Events Pool

The Society of Actuaries (SOA) Research Executive Committee has established a pool of special funding called the Current Events Research Pool. The goal of this special funding is to support current event and emerging topics in established practice areas and encourage the development of research projects that have strong impact on the actuarial profession.

Centers of Actuarial Excellence (CAE) Grants

Colleges and universities that have attained CAE status are eligible to compete for SOA-sponsored grants. These grants would allow universities to make significant investments in their programs, research and the profession. The SOA awards a grant in two areas: education and research. Award amounts and durations can range between $25,000 and $100,000 per annum over a period of one to three years. Applications for multi- and single-year grants will be accepted.