Associateship Professionalism Course (APC)

Remote Learning Solutions for APC and FAC

The Associateship Professionalism Course (APC) is the final requirement for the ASA designation and CERA credential. The APC covers professionalism, ethics and legal liability and makes extensive use of the case study method.

The SOA Board of Directors has approved the Canadian Institute of Actuaries' (CIA) Professionalism Course as a substitute for the APC. Therefore, Canadian candidates who attend the CIA course are not required take the SOA course. The CIA provides our Registrar with passing candidate data. For more information regarding the CIA course, please visit CIA-ICA.ca under calendar of meetings.

Registration

Participation in a remote APC is now by invitation only.

Prior to sending out invitations for the next available APC, we will run a list of those candidates who are eligible to attend. We have created an equitable model to invite candidates to participate in upcoming APCs. It is based on a priority order that takes into account the ASA requirements they have completed, and when those requirements were completed. You will be invited to register for an APC after you have completed all other ASA requirements, as space allows. However, candidates with only one remaining requirement may be invited to register if space is available.

Note that the remote APC sessions each month will include up to 2 to 3 times the number of candidates that would typically attend an in-person APC.

Upcoming APC Cohorts

2020

APC #430

  • Registration opens/Invitations Sent: Fri, Oct 23
  • Deadline to register: Wed, Nov 11
  • e-Learning module available: Thurs, Nov 19
  • Deadline to register for virtual session: Mon, Nov 30
  • e-Learning module test completion deadline: Thurs, Dec 3
  • Virtual sessions scheduled: Dec 7 - 18
  • APC credit effective date: Fri, Dec 18

2021

APC #431

  • Registration opens/Invitations Sent: Fri, Dec 4
  • Deadline to register: Tues, Dec 29
  • e-Learning module available: Thurs, Jan 7
  • Deadline to register for virtual session: Mon, Jan 18
  • e-Learning module test completion deadline: Thurs, Jan 21
  • Virtual sessions scheduled: Jan 25-Feb 5
  • APC credit effective date: Fri, Feb 5
  • e-Learning closes: Sun, Feb 7

APC #432

  • Registration opens/Invitations Sent: Tues, Jan 5
  • Deadline to register: Tues, Jan 26
  • e-Learning module available: Thurs, Feb 4
  • Deadline to register for virtual session: Mon, Feb 15
  • e-Learning module test completion deadline: Thurs, Feb 18
  • Virtual sessions scheduled: Feb 22-March 5
  • APC credit effective date: March 5
  • e-Learning closes: March 7

APC #433

  • Registration opens/Invitations Sent: Fri, Feb 12
  • Deadline to register: Tues, March 9
  • e-Learning module available: Thurs, March 18
  • Deadline to register for virtual session: Mon, March 29
  • e-Learning module test completion deadline: Thurs, April 1
  • Virtual sessions scheduled: April 5-April 16
  • APC credit effective date: April 16
  • e-Learning closes: Sun, April 18

APC #434

  • Registration opens/Invitations Sent: Fri, March 12
  • Deadline to register: Tues, April 6
  • e-Learning module available: Thurs, April 15
  • Deadline to register for virtual session: Mon, April 26
  • e-Learning module test completion deadline: Thurs, April 29
  • Virtual sessions scheduled: May 3-14
  • APC credit effective date: May 14
  • e-Learning closes: May 15

APC #435

  • Registration opens/Invitations Sent: Fri, April 16
  • Deadline to register: Tues, May 11
  • e-Learning module available: Thurs, May 20
  • Deadline to register for virtual session: Mon, May 31
  • e-Learning module test completion deadline: Thurs, June 3
  • Virtual sessions scheduled: June 7-18
  • APC credit effective date: June 18
  • e-Learning closes: June 20

APC #436

  • Registration opens/Invitations Sent: Fri, May 28
  • Deadline to register: Tues, June 22
  • e-Learning module available: Thurs, July 1
  • Deadline to register for virtual session: Mon, July 12
  • e-Learning module test completion deadline: Thurs, July 15
  • Virtual sessions scheduled: July 19-30
  • APC credit effective date: July 30
  • e-Learning closes: Aug 1

APC #437

  • Registration opens/Invitations Sent: Fri, July 23
  • Deadline to register: Tues, Aug 17
  • e-Learning module available: Thurs, Aug 26
  • Deadline to register for virtual session: Mon, Sept 6
  • e-Learning module test completion deadline: Thurs, Sept 9
  • Virtual sessions scheduled: Sept 13-24
  • APC credit effective date: Sept 24
  • e-Learning closes:

APC #438

  • Registration opens/Invitations Sent: Fri, Sept 10
  • Deadline to register: Tues, Oct 5
  • e-Learning module available: Thurs, Oct 14
  • Deadline to register for virtual session: Mon, Oct 25
  • e-Learning module test completion deadline: Thurs, Oct 28
  • Virtual sessions scheduled: Nov 1-12
  • APC credit effective date: Nov 12
  • e-Learning closes: Nov 14

Registration Fee

The Registration fee for the course is USD 625.00

Remote Learning Sessions – What to Expect

The SOA offers the APC by remote learning to candidates around the world. Each APC will run over a month-long timeframe and will include two components – an online e-Learning component and a virtual meeting session component. Here is what to expect in the remote learning APC:

Component #1 – Candidates will be given access to an online e-Learning module that they complete on their own (estimated 3-4 hours).

  • The module will cover the Code of Professional Conduct, Standards of Practice, ethics and legal liability.
  • Candidates will have approximately 14 days to complete the online module.

Component #2 – Following completion of the module, candidates will participate in a virtual case discussion where small groups of candidates and one facilitator will meet via a virtual meeting platform (estimated 2-3 hours in length).

  • Virtual sessions will include discussion of ethics case studies.
  • Candidates will select a virtual session once access is opened for the module. Virtual session scheduling options will span a two-week period.

All candidates scheduled for a particular APC one-month cohort will receive credit for APC on the same day, at the end of the last week of the virtual sessions.

Candidates should sign-in to their virtual session 10-15 minutes prior to the session start time. Participants who are absent for more than 10 minutes will be required to repeat the entire course.

Candidates can find e-Learning Management System Requirements here. Here is a link to the GoToMeeting technology specifications for virtual session attendees.

What is the Case Study Method?

The case study method is different from other types of teaching approaches in that it is based on actual business situations. After reading a case, participants are asked to participate in a discussion in order to analyze the situation and make recommendations for its solution.

Attire

Business casual attire is appropriate for the virtual sessions.

Cancellation Policy

All enrollment cancellations must be made in writing. Please send a message to apc@soa.org in order to obtain a refund of the registration fee, minus a cancellation fee of USD 150.00.

The Society of Actuaries has the right to cancel any of the APC sessions if conditions warrant. In the event of such cancellation, registration fees will be refunded. The Society of Actuaries will not be held liable for any cancellation fees assessed attendees.

APC inquiries may be directed to apc@soa.org